Week 1, Day 1     July 7, 2009

I have decided to try the exercise program: “Couch Potato to 5K in 9 Weeks.”

The first day consists of a 20 minute workout alternating 90 seconds of walking and 60 seconds of jogging. How hard can that be?

Day One: Failure. I made it about 8 minutes! I had to walk the rest of the way.

And then it took me half an hour to recover! Chasing after toddlers is NOT an exercise plan.

I ran through the park. Within the first 5 minutes I passed seniors citizens doing chair yoga. “I can do this” I told myself.

I was passed by a senior out for her morning walk. “I can do this” I told myself.

She passed me a second time! “I can’t do this” I told myself.

I guess I better keep it up. I can’t be beat by a bunch of senior citizens!  I’ll get nowhere if I stay on that couch. I figure it best to circle my block, though. That way if I pass out, it’s close to home. Maybe someone will find me and say, “You can do this.”

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

